16th Newsletter

The time I almost quit surgery

Why did I come close to quitting surgery? 

Was it burnout? No 

Did I stop enjoying operating? No 

Life  has ups and downs and will be filled with moments of struggle, that is the human experience. 

I was distracted.Distracted by unreasonable expectations of what I thought surgery was going to be at that point in my life and the desire to be perfect. 

I thought everything was going to be perfect, and it wasn’t. I have no right to expect life to be perfect. 

Perfectionism threatens your creativity and passion for things. 

It was only when I poured my anxieties and worries out to my parents that I wasn’t fulfilled and that maybe I should take a year out and do something else…it clicked. 

The next day I was on-call and was busy operating and seeing dozens of surgical patients throughout the day. 

The day was no different from many other on-call days…except for one thing. 

Everything seemed easy. 

I was no longer plagued with stresses about getting everything perfect and impressing the bosses with every action or word I said. 

I worked diligently as I normally did but I was now content with what I was doing. 

I wasn’t perfect. I wasn’t going to get everything right all the time, but neither was any other doctor in the world. 

Once I realised that my imperfection was good enough, I’ve never looked back and love my job more than ever.

An old surgeon/mentor told me that year, “any surgeon worth his salt goes through moments of self doubt – but as long as you can stay patient & say you’ve given 100% of your effort every time you step in the hospital or operating room…that is plenty good enough”Patience & effort = success. A lack of one can sabotage the other.

You can catch all my content across socials by clicking this link and also check out my Movember page! https://linktr.ee/DrKaran