1st newsletter (copy 01)

The most important thing I can tell you...

I'm starting this newsletter with the most important thing I can ever tell you...  Sleep.  As many of you now, I love talking about sleep & weird sleep facts. It is one of the most underrated & undervalued components of our health.  If you can improve sleep quality, you can improve the quality of your life; better memory, less chance of injury, boost productivity and mood!  The current pandemic has left most of us with a drastic lifestyle change with a breakdown in routine and the first thing that is disrupted is sleep!  A lack of sleep results in your prefrontal cortex (responsible for grown-up decisions) going quiet and your amygdala (your "fear" or emotional centre) going into overdrive..leaving you feeling worse for wear!  To regain that elusive beauty sleep try these 3 simple things to start with:  1. Limit caffeine at least 8hrs before bed (it takes that long to break down half the amount of caffeine you consume!)  2. No electronics 1-2hrs before you sleep (the blue light from screens stops your brain making melatonin; the sleepy hormone!)  3. Get some sunlight first thing in the morning to regulate your body clock (circadian rhythm; to dampen down melatonin ) 

I could go on..and I will! 

In these weekly newsletters, I'll be packing in life hacks, health tips that you can put into practice as well as random musings to keep you "edu-tained"!New Website launching soon so keep your eyes peeled! For now check out my stuff on https://linktr.ee/DrKaran