Best Way To Cook Vegetables, Rewilding Microbiome & Podcast Relaunch

The Weekly Dose - Episode 81

How To “Rewild” Your Microbiome 

Rewilding is a term used to refer to ecological restoration and increasing biodiversity in nature….

but you have your own internal ecosystem and wildlife – the microbiome.

The answer isn’t supplements.

Here are some simple ways to increase biodiversity and experiment:

1.     Spend time around furry pets and the garden:

There is research suggesting that when we interact with the soil and animals, this helps to diversify our gut microbes.

This process is accentuated during early exposure (children) when our immune system and microbiome is still developing.

2.    Eat apple cores (without the seeds).

Apples are great but the apple core itself houses millions of microbes.

The extra fibre is also a bonus.

3.    Go for more outdoor walks:

Even the air around you has its own distinct microbiome, the airborne microbiome.

Every environment you travel to has its own unique microbes which you can expose yourself to as you walk around.

 

 

The Most Nutritious Way of Cooking Vegetables…

Two ways in which most water soluble vitamins (e.g. Vitamin B, C) are lost during the cooking process is:

1) High temperature related damage

2) Nutrients leeching out in the water

 

Boiling is typically very high heat and the heat combined with the fact the vegetables are immersed in water usually results in the greatest nutrient loss.

 

One study found that microwaving helps retain the highest nutrient content.

 

While some vegetables pack more nutrition when eaten raw, and some require cooking to unlock their full nutritional potential…

this is usually the order of cooking from most nutrients preserved to least:

 

Microwaving, steaming, blanching, boiling.

 

 

Lessons I’ve Learned Along The Way..

1.     Life is hard, but it’s harder when you don’t work hard to build a life of purpose. You get to choose your own hard.

2.    I (and probably you) spend too much time thinking about what other people think about me than I spend thinking about what I think of me. More time focused on yourself is never a waste.

If you are a shop, everyone in your life is just window shopping, you are the store owner… invest in yourself.

3.    Hospital life has taught me that life is fleeting.

You never know when your last hug with your parents will be, the last time you get to cuddle your dog…. remember this and act accordingly

4.   All good plans are a moment away from chaos.

Making plans and preparing are all well and good but remember to prepare for the eventuality that they will fail and go out the window at a moment’s notice.

Learn to enjoy the occasional chaos.

 

Life Updates:

 

Last week was challenging, physically. I got back from Switzerland and was sent home early from work on Monday after feeling chills and experiencing muscle aches. I spent the next 10 hours in bed, loaded up with turmeric milk, paracetamol and plenty of naps and food. Rest, rehydration and plentiful calories. The next morning I felt pretty good!

 

I had a long travel up to Sunderland University to give a lecture to some medical, nursing and pharmacy students about the perils and positives of social media use as a professional. I’ve got a few more medical school talks lined up in February and April too! (Oxford and Cambridge Uni)

 

This week is back to normality somewhat…emergency operating, elective operating and a 13 hour on call shift on the horizon. The days are slowly getting longer.

 

My gym routine over the last 2 weeks has been non-existent. I’ve maybe trained 2-3 times in 2 weeks. I’m planning to make a concerted effort to get back into it from today!

 

My publisher said to me last week they were so happy with how the book was doing and how well it had been received by you guys that they are planning to keep it as a hardback for longer because people seem to be enjoying it!

 

I love each and every review you guys leave of the book and love how much you’ve been recommending it to friends and family! If you haven’t got a copy yet, make sure you grab it from here:

What You Should Watch:

Dick Johnson Is Dead

I’ve always felt that death is such a taboo topic in our society. In this documentary the cinematographer stages various fictional scenarios in which her father (who has dementia) accidentally dies (which he acts out for the camera). It sounds morbid but is surprisingly sweet and is an interesting reflection around death.

 

 

Relaunching The Podcast:

Feb 2024 I’m back with my podcast.

I took a brief hiatus to focus on work and book related stuff but my appetite to get back into the world of podcasting has returned.

I’m changing the name too.. so keep an eye and ear out!