The Weekly Dose...

The Weekly Dose...

The Weekly Dose...

... the latest from Dr Karan

 

Hi all!

Here is your weekly dose of the Sunday Six! A list of what has peaked my interest and things I've been pondering.

If you're enjoying these newsletters please forward them to your friends, family and even enemies! Help me to help as many people as possible. 

**You'll find more in depth analysis of some of these subjects on my social platforms in the links just below. As well as more content including Dr Karan investigates! and Doctor Reacts. Plus plenty of short videos about weird little facts and wonders in the world of medicine!**

Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Website

 A few points for you this week 

 📰 

- What I'm Reading

I mentioned earlier in the weekly a ridiculous headline I came across in a well known newspaper. It's based - somewhat - on a study by 

. This 'ground breaking study'has set the media ablaze by suggesting that there is no difference in serotonin levels (happy chemicals) in those suffering from depression and those not.

Thus claiming that the serotonin hypothesis of depression doesn't hold up (Which was known in the medical circle for years!). They went on to suggest SSRI's might not work. 

The problem with science being in the hands of the media is often a cause hysteria among the public. SSRI's do work, but we just don't really known the exact mechanisms of action. Similar to paracetamol and anaesthetics.

📺 

- What Have I Been Watching This Week?

This past week I've revisited a masterpiece. I've binge watched Breaking Bad once again. Not only is the storyline exquisite but the scientific elements of the show are also perfect. A favourite part of mine is the use of ricin by Walter White (because I'm into science, not because I'm looking for an untraceable method of killing!).

Ricin is a naturally occurring protein which is derived from the beans of the castor oil plant. Highly poisonous if inhaled or injected, It only takes a few grains of ricin to kill an adult due to its high level of toxicity. Essentially, what is does is cause widespread cell death in a persons organ system.

Walter White uses ricin multiple times in the series, and although it may be a slow way to kill the fact it's almost untraceable means it's a smart choice.*

*Again, I find this cool because it's about science, nothing else!

   🥑

- What I'm Worried About...

Happy Avocado Day!

Yes, today is national avocado day in the UK. A day to celebrate one of the the worlds favourite superfoods. But please enjoy them responsibly! By responsibly I mean how you cut into the fruit (yes, it is a fruit). An unusual admission to the emergency room is something called Avocado hand.

Avocado hand is when a person tries to remove the pit of the avocado with a knife, either by stabbing the hard stone or by trying to insert the knife between the green flesh of the avocado and the pit and flicking it out. This quite often ends with the blade slipping and going straight through the persons hand, causing anything from tendon and muscle damage to the loss of a digit!

So, please don't let Avocado hand ruin your avocado day!

🎧 

- What I'm Listening To...

Now I'm certainly not a country music person, but the algorithm Gods of Spotify seemed to have thought it would be something I'd enjoy. And dammit they were right! A barnstorming country song which had me thinking about swapping my scalpel for a lasso. I saw myself donning a fantastic pair of red cowboy boots and calling myself Butch Karan Cassidy.

📈

- Concept I've Been Trying...

This week I came across an article from 

 regarding marginal gains.

He talks about how we, as humans, don't think change is meaningful unless it's of a large scale. For example, if we are trying to lose weight and have only lost one pound, we address it as a failure.

The thought process that 'any change we make has to be monumental for it to be worthwhile' hinders us massively. A tiny improvement may not be noticeable, and to some won't even seem notable. But in the long run even that original 1% improvement can be monumental.

(From https://jamesclear.com/marginal-gains)

If we make a decision which improves something by 1%, then instead of seeing it as a worthless increase see it over a one year period, and an increase of 1% daily means you'll be 37 times better off by the end of the timeframe.

James Clear describes in a great way the importance of small improvements. Tiny things we can do that lead to great changes further down the line. A nice example of this is if we start flossing daily, a task that takes a few minutes out of our day but leads to big changes like better dental hygiene and fantastic smelling breathe.

  🎓🩺 

- Day I'm Looking Forward To...

So this Wednesday (3rd of August) is known in some quarters as Black Wednesday. No, don't be opening up your Amazon app at five past midnight looking for a discounted Air-fryer. Black Wednesday is a term used in the UK when thousands of junior doctors begin working in hospitals up and down the country. Unfortunately, people assume this means we just allow a bunch of clueless individuals into the hospital to look after the ill.

It's not! These are professional doctors who have trained hard to be in such a position. And I can guarantee that this guys won't leave a stone unturned looking after their patients. I can also confirm that every decision they make will be double, triple, decuple checked by themselves and the more experienced doctors on the ward.

So allow me to leave you with this, don't let this nonsense propaganda stop you from going to the hospital, if you need to of course. You will be in the safest of hands and have absolutely nothing to worry about!

I'm excited to welcome all our new doctors, the fresh faces coupled with their enthusiasm and eagerness reignite my passion for teaching and medicine. 

Have a wonderful, healthy week

Dr Karan.